The 2014 Oscar Nominees: Can You Believe They Snubbed That One Movie?

By  · Published on January 16th, 2014

Hopefully you’re all wearing your tuxedos and evening gowns because, as we all know, Thursday morning before sunrise is the best time to get fancy. Feel no shame about that 5am martini. Unless it’s your fourth. Because you’re behind.

And you might need something strong for the announcement of the nominees for the 86th annual Academy Awards.

Best Picture

American Hustle – Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison and Jonathan Gordon

Captain Phillips – Scott rudin, Dana Brunetti and Michael De Luca

Dallas Buyers Club – Robbie Brenner and Rachel Winter

Gravity – Alfonso Cuaron and David Heyman

Her – Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze and Vincent Landay

Nebraska — Albert Berger and Ron Yerxa

Philomena – Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan and Tracey Seaward

12 Years a Slave – Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen and Anthony Katagas

The Wolf of Wall Street – Nominees to be determined

Best Director

David O. Russell, American Hustle

Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity

Alexander Payne, Nebraska

Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Actress

Amy Adams, American Hustle

Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Sandra Bullock, Gravity

Judi Dench, Philomena

Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Best Actor

Christian Bale, American Hustle

Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street

Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress

Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine

Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle

Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

Julia Roberts, August: Osage County

June Squibb, Nebraska

Best Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper, American Hustle

Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street

Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Animated Feature Film

The Croods

Despicable Me 2

Ernest & Celestine


The Wind Rises

Best Cinematographer

Philippe Le Sourd, The Grandmaster

Emmanual Lubezki, Gravity

Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis

Phedon Papamichael, Nebraska

Roger A. Deakins, Prisoners

Best Costume Design

Michael Wilkinson, American Hustle

William Chang Suk Ping, The Grandmaster

Catherine Martin, The Great Gatsby

Michael O’Connor, The Invisible Woman

Patricia Norris, 12 Years a Slave

Best Documentary Feature

The Act of Killing

Cutie and the Boxer

Dirty Wars

The Square

20 Feet From Stardom

Best Documentary Short Subject


Facing Fear

Karama Has No Walls

The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life

Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall

Best Film Editing

Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten – American Hustle

Christopher Rouse – Captain Phillips

John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa – Dallas Buyers Club

Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger – Gravity

Joe Walker – 12 Years a Slave

Best Foreign Language Film

The Broken Circle Breakdown, Belgium

The Great Beauty, Italy

The Hunt, Denmark

The Missing Picture, Cambodia

Omar, Palestine

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews, Dallas Buyers Club

Stephen Prouty, Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa

Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny, The Lone Ranger

Best Original Score

John Williams, The Book Thief

Stephen Price, Gravity

William Butler and Owen Pallett. Her

Alexandre Desplat, Philomena

Thomas Newman, Saving Mr. Banks

Best Original Song

“Alone Yet Not Alone” from Alone Yet Not Alone

“Happy” from Despicable Me 2

“Let It Go” from Frozen

“The Moon Song” from Her

“Ordinary Love” from Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom

Best Production Design

American Hustle – Judy Becker (Production Design); Heather Loeffler (Set Decoration)

Gravity — Andy Nicholson (Production Design); Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard (Set Decoration)

The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin (Production Design); Beverley Dunn (Set Decoration)

Her — K.K. Barrett (Production Design); Gene Serdena (Set Decoration)

12 Years a Slave – Adam Stockhausen (Production Design); Alice Baker (Set Decoration)

Best Animated Short


Get a Horse!

Mr. Hublot


Room on the Broom

Best Live-Action Short

Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)

Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)


Pitaako Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)

The Voorman Problem

Best Sound Editing

Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns, All Is Lost

Oliver Tarney, Captain Phillips

Glenn Freemantle, Gravity

Brent Burge, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Wylie Statement, Lone Survivor

Best Sound Mixing

Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro – Captain Phillips

Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro – Gravity

Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland – Inside Llewyn Davis

Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow – Lone Survivor

Best Visual Effects

Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould – Gravity

Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick – Iron Man 3

Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier – The Lone Ranger

Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton – Star Trek Into Darkness

Best Adapted Screenplay

Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke – Before Midnight

Billy Ray – Captain Phillips

Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope – Philomena

John Ridley – 12 Years a Slave

Terence Winter – The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Original Screenplay

Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell – American Hustle

Woody Allen – Blue Jasmine

Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack – Dallas Buyers Club

Spike Jonze – Her

Bob Nelson – Nebraska

Source: AMPAS

Movie stuff at VanityFair, Thrillist, IndieWire, Film School Rejects, and The Broken Projector Podcast@brokenprojector | Writing short stories at Adventitious.