Sample Hans Zimmer’s Moody, Percussive ‘Man of Steel’ Score

By  · Published on April 30th, 2013

Amazon is now accepting pre-orders for the Man of Steel soundtrack from Hans Zimmer, so they’ve made a track listing and a few samples available.

There’s nothing breathtakingly surprising here. Zimmer is that rare combination of artist and workhorse, and his style is set in synth stone even if it hasn’t completely ossified. That’s a relevant issue considering that he’s effectively taking over the baton from the legendary John Williams – a man who produced dozens of iconic songs but who has become a bit static after, you know, seven decades of writing movie music.

Zimmer brings a bit of freshness here. The percussive intensity that we heard in Inception, the lilting tones of metal on metal, some bombastic brassy moments. The only question is how much of it will be copied by trailer editors.

You can find the track listing below, and those that are super sensitive about story beats as spoilers may want to steer clear:

  1. Look To The Stars
  2. Oil Rig
  3. Sent Here For A Reason
  4. DNA
  5. Goodbye My Son
  6. If You Love These People
  7. Krypton’s Last
  8. Terraforming
  9. Tornado
  10. You Die Or I Do
  11. Launch
  12. Ignition
  13. I Will Find Him
  14. This Is Clark Kent
  15. I Have So Many Questions
  16. Flight
  17. What Are You Going To Do When You Are Not Saving The World?
  18. Man of Steel (Hans’ Original Sketchbook)

Source: JoBlo

Movie stuff at VanityFair, Thrillist, IndieWire, Film School Rejects, and The Broken Projector Podcast@brokenprojector | Writing short stories at Adventitious.